Daily Archives: June 1, 2012

Running Update – Long Runs on the Treadmill

After a year of running and beginner training plans, the time has come for a more challenging schedule. In the beginning, I ran three days a week with two rest days. Then, I progressed to running every second day, with at least one  rest day most weeks.

Over the past few weeks, I have been experimenting with some different training options.  I feel strong enough for a plan with four run days a week, two cross-training days and one rest day.  So, I selected a 10K training plan designed by running Coach Jenny Hadfield and posted on the Cleveland Marathon website.  This week’s schedule is as follows:

I have discovered it is easier to train using time instead of distance. If I concentrate too much on distance and pace during my run I lose track and end up running too fast and I have to stop for a short break.  So, after my run is completed, I note my distance and pace as an additional means to track my progress.

Lastly, with day time temperatures  hovering around 45°C (113 °F),  I have been doing my long runs on the treadmill at the gym in order to survive the heat.  Although, like most people I prefer running outdoors, I am grateful that I have access to a gym.  Needless to say, with a little over a month left in Oman, I am counting the days until I can go home, where the  weather will be cooler and long runs will be possible to do outdoors.