Jarnan Cave

My latest outing was a trip to Izki, about twenty minutes from Nizwa, for a short visit to Jarnan Cave.

Jarnan Cave

Jarnan Cave

This cave lies at the foot of Wadi Halfayn, below Nazar village in Izki. According to the inscription on a large rock near the entrance to the cave, it is distinguished from all other caves in Oman by a famous legend dating from the pre-Islamic era.

Rock located at the entrance to Jarnan Cave.

Rock located at the entrance to Jarnan Cave.

It is said that when Islam came into existence a golden calf was hidden deep inside the cave so that no one could reach it.

I wonder if the "Golden Calf" is still here.

I wonder if the “Golden Calf” is still here.

View looking out from inside the cave.

View looking out from inside the cave.

The cave itself is not very big or noteworthy. However, the ruins above the cave are more interesting and worth a visit if you have some extra time and you are in the area.

Stairs near the cave leading up to the village above.

Stairs near the cave leading up to the village above.

 

4 responses to “Jarnan Cave

  1. That’s a cool cave. I can see the “gold”. πŸ™‚

  2. I never went to Jarnan Cave while in Oman; I think it’s one of the few places I missed. But then I’m not much on caves. I do like the ruins there though! I’m glad to see you out exploring. I bet it’s getting hot there now. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment