7-Week 10K Training Plan

It is time to get serious. Summer is almost over and cooler temperatures are just around the corner. Although I have been running, biking and doing other physical activities I stopped following the Cleveland Half Marathon plan a few weeks ago. It was too challenging, leading to injuries, tiredness and running stress. Consequently, my training has been unfocused over the past couple of  weeks and now it is time to get back on track with a more realistic goal and a new training schedule.

Sometimes it is necessary to adjust plans, lower expectations, and re-evaluate goals. First, I would like to reach my half-marathon goal as planned in October but it is not about to happen this year. Instead I will be focusing on running the Legs for Literacy 10K run on October 21 in Moncton, New Brunswick. Second, I would love to cover the distance in 60 minutes but my main objective is to complete the race – time is unimportant.

To get ready for this race I have designed a 7-week training plan. Based on my running experience over the past year, I believe this schedule is suitable for beginning runners like me who want to successfully run a 10K. The schedule involves 4 days of running per week, 1 or 2 days of cross training and 1 or 2 rest days a week. Also, it starts out gently with walking breaks, and makes small increments in distance, over 7 weeks.

You are welcome to use or modify this 7-Week 10K Training Plan  (excel spreadsheet) to track your progress.

8 responses to “7-Week 10K Training Plan

  1. Hello from England! I’ve entered my first ever 10k for the 10th March this year – just over 7 weeks away!! I’ve downloaded your plan, & can’t wait to get started!

  2. Pingback: Training Update | Rural Route Runner

  3. I just had an injury that benched me for a week now and can only run again sometime later this week. I’ve been trying to work out a plan to start again. Thank you so much for sharing this. I hope you don’t mind if I try it 🙂

  4. Looks like a great training plan!

  5. Looks good! I just love making a training plan and then hanging it on the fridge and using a highlighter to cross off the days. You are smart to modify your plans. Last year I really wanted to do a full marathon but my body wasn’t ready. I ended up doing a 10k instead and had a blast.

Leave a Reply

