Three Simple Running Goals for 2017

This past year running took a backseat to work and life in general. Some days I was focused and motivated to exercise, but other days I found a million excuses not to workout. Luckily, my jobs involved a lot of physical labour and my weight remained constant in spite of not following a regular exercise program. I completely ignored this blog and rarely tracked my running distance or progress. I didn’t sign up for any events which also contributed to my limited interest in running.

This year I am taking a new approach to training and exercise. I would like to enjoy running while incorporating some specific goals for 2017. My first goal is to run a distance of 5 miles (8km) without walking breaks. Now, I am able to run 5K. However, after a year of limited training I am extremely slow. I am like a snail, so time goals at this point would lead me down the path to complete failure. This must be avoided! Thus, I am going to concentrate on building up endurance and when I can cover 5 miles I might consider incorporating some speed-training.

My second goal is to enter two 10K races this year. At this point, I have no idea when or where – to be decided in the near future.

My third goal is to actively track my progress via this blog. My intention is to post my running data and thoughts at least twice a month. I did my last run of 2016 this morning – a slow, comfortable  3 miles in 36:31 – this will be my starting point for 2017.

These three simple running goals are intended to help me stay motivated and focused on running. In order to achieve these goals I have to be extremely dedicated, unwavering and prepared to make running play an important part of my life by setting aside enough time for consistent and quality training in 2017.

3 responses to “Three Simple Running Goals for 2017

  1. These are all great goals. It takes a lot of courage to put your goals out there for the world to see, but it’s good because it holds you accountable. I think it’s great to have goals. Good luck achieving them, or at least trying. We all have to push ourselves with exercise goals as we get older and have more demands on our time. Happy New Year! 🙂

  2. Those are good goals. My exercise has dropped off…injury and moving house. Unfortunately my weight has gone up. 😟
    Focusing on eating less and making better choices. And getting more regular exercise! Good luck and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

