Summer/September Update

For many people September means back to school and getting back into a routine after summer vacation with children, family and friends. This month has often marked the beginning of a new job or academic year for me, but after leaving my job in July to take a break from teaching overseas, I finally found enough motivation to get back to a regular running schedule in Canada.

During the summer I did two or three easy run-walk sessions a week without tracking time or distance, but in September I gradually added a few more days and committed to 3.1 miles (5K) or more on each outing. However, I needed two or three walking breaks of about thirty seconds for every run.

runningdatasept2015

In October I would like to do 3.1 miles (5K) two or three times a week and a long run of 4-5 miles once a week. At this point, I am going to focus on completing my runs without walking breaks and try to improve my endurance without focusing on pace. My eventual goal is to be able to cover 5 miles (8K) without walking. I have to remember to slow down in the beginning so, that I don’t run out of steam by the half way point and need a walking break.

 

2 responses to “Summer/September Update

  1. Yes, it is great to be back home – much nicer running spots here.

  2. Great job! Are you glad to be back in Canada?

Leave a Reply

