10K Training

With about three weeks to go before returning to Canada for summer vacation, my mind is on the New Brunswick Day 10K Road Race in Chipman, New Brunswick. In previous years, I have taken part in the 5K event but to celebrate three years of running and the 25th anniversary of the event I am participating in the 10K race this year.

Two weeks ago, I started preparing by following a new 8 Week 10K training Plan that I developed based on time rather than distance. Running in the scorching heat in Oman is almost impossible, so in order to deal with this, I scheduled some walking pauses and gradually increased the running intervals hoping that this will get me ready for running in Canada.  Additionally, as the running intervals increase, the walking pauses become shorter, as can be seen in the plan below.

8week10kweeks 1to48week10kweeks5to8pool 15For the first four and a half weeks my cross training will be 40 minutes of swimming at the Golden Tulip pool. I usually go directly after work before the families with children arrive so that I have the pool to myself.  When I return to Canada this will be replaced with 40 to 60 minutes of biking on the trails near my home which I will share with the local wildlife.

In my last 10K race I finished in 1:06:46, but is was actually 10.3K, so with 300 meters less to run in Chipman my goal is to finish in less that 1 hour and 5 minutes.

4 responses to “10K Training

  1. Well done. We are still running here in the UAE early in the mornings or late at night. Facebook: Dubai Trail Runners. You have to be careful, but it is possible to run all summer. Are there any nearby mountain trails in Nizwa – I mean ones you could do without having to drive up Jabal Akhdar? Keep up the good work!

  2. Good for you in the scorching heat! I can manage a few minutes…but it is better than when we arrived in January! Have a great race!

Leave a Reply

