2014 New Year’s Resolutions

My first and most important resolution will be to eliminate chocolate from my diet. So this year, rather than reduce my chocolate consumption I am giving it up on January 1st.  I no longer eat potato chips or drink soda and I was successful by quitting “cold turkey” the same way that many people give up smoking.  I will try this same approach for chocolate. When my husband goes to Switzerland I am not going to request any more Swiss chocolate.  I will do my best to avoid chocolate and when tempted I will reach for fruits or nuts. Actually, I feel stressed just thinking about life without chocolate. This will be difficult!

Second, I will spend less money on gadgets – Although I am fairly frugal in most things I spend some of my hard-earned cash on running events and running gear. There is always some new gadget that promises a better performance and I am all too willing to fork over money for the latest fad in running. The newest high-tech t-shirts, compression socks, and shorts cost a small fortune. Spending more than $150 on a pair of sneakers does not make me faster than a cheaper pair. Yes, they may be slightly more comfortable and durable but I really cannot tell the difference. They will not propel me across the finish line any faster than a cheaper pair. No matter what the marketers claim fancy sneakers and expensive running clothes do not result in speed in my case. So, this year I am not going to squander money for unnecessary running accessories.  I already have enough gear.

Third, I will read at least one book per month – When I am home in Canada I have access to a public library which means that I can always find something to read without it costing a small fortune.  It is easy to find reading material online but I tend to tire quickly when reading on a computer screen. Consequently, I will have to make an effort to find and buy books. I can use the money I save on gadgets for books. I will share my books with colleagues and hopefully some of them will have books that interest me.

A small poster to help me remember my resolutions.

A small poster to help me remember my resolutions.

9 responses to “2014 New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Pingback: Goal for 2015 – Start Running Again | Rural Route Runner

  2. My sister and I are sharing an Audible account and were getting 2 books a month. We went crazy for a while but now we’ve dropped the membership down to 1 per month. My favorite books I’ve listened to lately are The Book Thief and The Kite Runner. I was trying to limit sweets and would put out only 5 little Hersey kisses each day. That didn’t work. It only made me want more. I’m with you. I’ve got to stay as far away from chocolate as possible.

  3. Chocolate is an on and off obsession for me. My son-in-law works for Lindt…but, being in the Middle East now I am not subject to the free boxes he gives away…now running gear…i hear you! Me too! Good luck!

  4. Wish you luck for 2014 my friend , Great 3 resolutions you have 🙂

  5. Good luck achieving your resolutions. I still love the feel of a book in my hands, but I’ve also found the Kindle to be the perfect thing to read on while traveling & living abroad. If you have wi-fi you can download any book you want and for cheaper than the real book. Happy new year!

Leave a Reply

