How many steps?

My Sportline Fitness Pedometer counts steps, measures distance, tracks calories-burned, measures walking and running speed. It also has a “smart timer” that starts and stops when I do, tracking my total activity for the day.

pedometer chartLast month I started using this pedometer to monitor my daily physical activity level. I tracked my steps from 7:30 in the morning until 9:00 o’clock in the evening. The number of steps usually fell in the range of 4,700 to 7,000.  Most days were around 6,000. These statistics seemed fairly reasonable until I did some research and discovered that according to many experts including Dr. Catrine Tudor-Locke and the Canadian Heart and Stroke Foundation at least 10,000 steps per day are recommended for a healthy adult.

fitness pedometer 1I actually considered myself “active” and to be honest I was shocked when I realized that most days I fell into the “low active” category.  I can allow myself to be in this category on running days since I run in the morning before 7:00 and this is not included in the number of daily steps. I assume that a 3 or 4 mile run would bring the number of steps above 10,000.

I would like to think that my Sportline Fitness Pedometer is fairly accurate since I measured my stride length several times by using different methods and then took an average to ensure greater accuracy. It is certainly not as precise as my Garmin but the data still suggests that I need more movement on non-running days.  Thus, it looks like I have to make some changes on these days.

So, how am I going to increase my daily activity levels?

  1. At work, I will go for a 10 or 15 minute walk around campus every hour when I do not have class. Also, I will take advantage of any occasion at work that allows for physical movement.
  2. At home, I will no longer use the lift in my building. Starting today, I will take the stairs to my flat on the 6th floor.

I am determined to be more active and by making the two small changes above I hope to reach 10,000 steps per day.

3 responses to “How many steps?

  1. Pingback: 2014 Running and Exercise Goals | Rural Route Runner

  2. I got a Fitbit for Christmas and it tracks your steps too. I’m just like you. I thought I was active but it is hard to hit that 10,000 steps on a non-run day.

  3. Reblogged this on myy400.

Leave a Reply

