Nizwa Exercise Trail

I am very happy to be living really close to the Nizwa exercise trail – a rather hilly, paved two kilometer route through the mountains. This means I have no excuse for not working out.

NRT3

According to a friend, there are plans to extend it but I am not sure this will happen during my stay in Nizwa.  Anyhow, a run from the start to the end and back again is four kilometers (2.8 miles) of rolling hills and this is more than enough for me.

NRT6

I prefer the more forgiving surfaces of gravel, sand, and natural terrain and so does my body. Luckily, there are several other more gentle paths and roads at the beginning and end that I will also be able to use as my new training grounds.

NRT2NRT1

During my early morning runs before heading off to work I have encountered a few men out for some exercise, mostly walking, but for the most part I am the only female out and about on the exercise trail. Actually, I shouldn’t be surprised considering that Oman is a land where local women are seldom seen walking on busy streets, so the idea of running in the mountains would be totally foreign to them.  I assume that local ladies work out in the privacy of their own homes, away from the public view. After all it would be too hot and difficult with their long black abayas to even contemplate exercising in the mountains. Yet, to my surprise as I huffed and puffed my way up a rather long hill, I spotted two ladies cloaked in black abayas off in the distance, walking on a nearby service road.

NRT8

It is nice to know that I am not the only lady taking advantage of the cool morning weather for exercise.

8 responses to “Nizwa Exercise Trail

  1. Pingback: A Bad Driver Ruined my Run | Rural Route Runner

  2. Pingback: A Rumour of Rain | Rural Route Runner

  3. What a beautiful place to run! 🙂

  4. Wow, that place looks interesting! I’d definitely prefer the flatter ground. 🙂

  5. I used to walk regularly on this paved walking trail, and I often passed women walking in their black abayas. 🙂 I’m glad you found it. The gravel trails seem nice too.

  6. Love the pics. Looks great!

Leave a Reply

