Race Day – One Week from Today

My first official race of 2013 is a week away. As I mentioned last week I decided to compete in the 5K rather than the 10K due to a nagging hamstring injury. So, this week, in order to deal with this injury, I stopped running as soon as I felt even the slightest pain in my leg.  I also managed to do some biking on non-running days. The positive news is that I was able to cover a little more distance every day without experiencing pain as can be seen in the chart below.stats 1After analysing this week’s training data I think a reasonable race day goal for 5K will be between 31 and 32 minutes. In the past, on a few occasions I was able to do 5K in less than 30 minutes but my best time in a race is 31:23.  So, I hope by taking it easy this coming week (training schedule below) I will be ready, rested and able to improve on this time.plan 1

Leave a Reply

