Sub 60 Minute10K in 10 Weeks

No more excuses – the winter is over and it is time for serious training. Although I have continued to run regularly on my treadmill, ventured outdoors for a run on a few occasions, I have not been following a training schedule. My main goal was to maintain a decent level of fitness and survive the long, cold Canadian winter. Now, it is time to focus on my next running goal – 10K in less than 60 minutes. After finishing my first 10K in 1:00:48 I feel this goal is realistic and I am prepared to work hard to reach it.

So, this week I made the transition from the treadmill to the trails and roads of my neighborhood, becoming acquainted with the hills, rough, pot-holed covered streets and muddy paths before officially starting spring training next Monday. This transition also included moving my treadmill from the house to the garage to avoid the temptation of using it instead of training outside on cooler, rainy days that often characterize April.

In addition, over the past few days, I have come up with a training plan that I hope will put me under 60 minutes at the  Peak Performance Miramichi on June 23, 2013. The plan calls for four days of running per week, two days of cross training and one rest day. (If needed a cross training day can be used as an extra rest day.) By incorporating a tempo, an easy, a long run and intervals I have all the bases covered.

Sub 60 Minute 10K Training Plan

Weeks 1 to 5Weeks 6 to 10

3 responses to “Sub 60 Minute10K in 10 Weeks

  1. Good luck! I know you can do it!

  2. Good luck!!! Sure seems doable! Rainy/sleet/snowy today…yuck…glad Friday is a rest day!! tomorrow long run!

Leave a Reply

