Marketing Job – Well Not Exactly

After several years roaming aimlessly from one job and country to another I decided to return to Canada, find a job and settle down into a more normal life. The idea of having an easy, relaxing life in a rural community seemed like a good idea eight months ago. My family encouraged me to put teaching ESL abroad behind me and return to a real job in Canada. My choice to wander the world as an English teacher has never been popular with my family.

However, my return to the job market in my homeland has met with little success. I applied for numerous entry-level administrative positions as well as janitorial, front desk, teaching assistant, cashier, sandwich maker, and general labor jobs but to no avail.

Not one to give up, I applied for a job as a “sign holder” – one of the worst possible jobs available in this entire country, holding a large advertising sign at a busy intersection in all sorts of winter weather conditions for $13 an hour!  No special skills required and after several people quit I was offered a position. Standing for five hours straight in sub-zero temperatures, wind and snow  blowing in every direction, and trying to keep a huge placard from flying into traffic is almost impossible. At the end of my shift I need about two hours to recover from the cold.

I WANT A NEW JOB!
I WANT A NEW JOB!

Thanks to this horrible job, I have had no time to blog because my main priority is finding work in a warmer place. The positive news is that in spite of my job, the snow and cold temperatures last month, I maintained a fairly consistent running schedule of 4 or 5 miles on the treadmill, three or four times a week.

14 responses to “Marketing Job – Well Not Exactly

  1. Oh my goodness. You are a trooper. So glad that you have still been able to run. I’m sure that dream job is right around the corner for you.

  2. Wow. I hope you find something soon. And I think I should show this to a few young people who want the perfect job just getting out of school and think anything less is beneath them! If you like going abroad then stick with it. I marvel at all of your adventures such as running in the desert and encountering camels! I panic when I see a dog on our trail in our neighborhood!

  3. Sounds like you are valiantly swimming up stream against your destiny. Trying to please other people rarely pleases anyone, in my experience. Be yourself. What are you happy doing?

  4. Sign holding sounds terrible…I always feel bad on cold days for those I see doing that job…hope you find something better very soon!!!!

  5. Follow your heart and be true to yourself. You’ve worked hard to become yourself…let it shine and the right job will appear magically.

  6. You are a trooper!!! I don’t know if I would be able to do that. I hope you’re able to find a warmer job soon.

  7. I hope you find something soon!

  8. Lori, I feel bad that you’ve had such a struggle finding a decent job. I don’t understand this situation; before I started teaching abroad, I applied for 250 jobs and got maybe 5 interviews and no job. And that with a Master’s degree that I just earned in 2008. I’m glad you still have time to run though!! Good luck and I hope you find a new job soon. Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

