Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections

This week’s photo challenge at the Daily Post is reflections. The host for this week’s theme suggested catching an image of a reflection in a mirror, puddle, river or some other surface. My reflection shots feature a gravel pit and ice.

The images were taken in my brother’s gravel pit just down the road from my place. After getting some gravel ready to build a new road on the property there was a couple of large open pits that formed small lakes after some heavy rain in the fall. I have been keeping a close eye on the water level hoping that it doesn’t dry up before winter. After all, this unsightly gravel pit on the property could become a skating rink, one that would involve little work on my part, unlike the backyard rinks I remember making as a youth.

So, with the freezing temperatures of late my skating rink is a reality. This morning, I rode my bike down in the frigid temperatures to have a look. I walked across the ice and it seems solid. However, I need to borrow an auger this afternoon and check for depth to be on the safe side before skating.

3 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections

  1. These are beautiful photos.

  2. Thanks for your comment on my page; Your photos are very nice also!

Leave a Reply

