Ready for 10K?

After seven weeks of training, tomorrow is my first official 10k race!  Although I have done my work and I should be able to cover the distance in about an hour I feel nervous.  I guess running on my own, determining my own route, and racing against the virtual runner on my Garmin is relatively stress free.   Tomorrow, I will not be alone and will be running in an unfamiliar city.

When I picked up my race bib and t-shirt this afternoon a volunteer handed me the 10K route map with directions and information about the course.  On the back of the map it is clearly stated:  “It is each runner’s responsibility to be aware of the route for their event.” Does this mean I should bring the course map along with me? Hopefully, there will be volunteers on the course indicating where runners need to turn.  Or maybe I can try to follow some locals who are running the 10K because there is no way I can remember the route and concentrate on running at the same time.

7 responses to “Ready for 10K?

  1. I can’t wait to hear how you did! I’m sure you did great!

  2. Good Luck. I think you’ll probably be fine without the map. Have fun and remember, your race is a celebration of all your training. Enjoy!

  3. Good luck!! I’m sure there will be volunteers and the course will be marked clearly. I doubt you need to bring a map!!

  4. Good luck Lori!! hope you find your way!

  5. Good luck! I know you will do great. Just remember to look around and have fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

