Easy Runs

Most running plans developed by coaches or other runners that I have come across include terms such as tempo runs, intervals, pick-ups, long runs, easy runs and many other words.

After a lot of research and plenty of practice I have a fairly decent understanding of the terminology and theory behind the various kinds of runs. Additionally, when I am out on the road or on the track, I can actually follow all of these techniques with the exception of an easy run. In fact, I am not sure that there is such a thing as an easy run. No matter how slow I move, running is never easy. At the end of what is supposed to be an easy run on my training plan I feel the same as I do after any other workout – tired. I often wonder at what point I will be able to go for an easy 30-minute run and not require a shower immediately after.

Running is difficult no matter what technique or terminology is used on the training plan. Walking is easy. I can walk for an hour or more, even in hot temperatures, and still carry on my normal routine after without a shower or recovery time.

Somewhere in between walking and running is jogging. So, maybe an easy run means jogging. The problem is my running could at best be described as a fast jog when I hit my highest pace. If I slow down too much then I will end up in the brisk walk zone which means my easy run becomes a walk.

Looking at pace, depending on my training schedule, I do 3 to 5 miles at a pace of 10:00 to 10:30 per mile. For easy runs, I try to maintain a pace of 10:30 to 11:15 but this is challenging at times and certainly never easy.

3 responses to “Easy Runs

  1. I love this post! There’s no such thing as an easy run for me. Even when I am going what others might consider slow, my lungs and legs are working like mad. Sometimes I think I should just walk briskly that and not even bother with the running part. 🙂

  2. So true!! Sometimes I think I only have one pace…slow. And you are right NEVER easy!!!

Leave a Reply

