Running and Discipline

Discipline is the key to reaching all goals. In the past, I lacked discipline. I was a starter but not always a finisher. I would start off with too many goals and due to limited discipline I wouldn’t reach them. I would give up and then start some other project. Not any more, running has helped me develop and improve my discipline.

Every time I set a running goal I mark it down and come up with a schedule and a strategy to achieve the goal.  As long as the goal is realistic it can be accomplished. Some goals take longer than others. It took me several months before I was able to run 5K in 30 minutes but I stayed focused on the goal and put in the necessary training.

For some reason, I feel running 10K in 60 minutes will be accomplished in fewer months than 5K in 30 minutes. Hopefully I am not being too optimistic.

5 responses to “Running and Discipline

  1. I ran my first 10K in March and it wasn’t so bad. I had only run 5Ks before that and am still at about 30-32 mins, but can finally do it without stopping. There was definitely something about the 10K. Maybe because there was more time to get into a rhythm … Anyway, good luck!!! I am keen to hear how you get on. You’ll do great.

  2. Great work my friend 🙂

  3. You can do it!!! I can’t wait to hear about the training. I know when I first started training for my very 1st triathlon, it took me a loooooong time to get to the point where I could run a 5k without stopping, but after I was finally able to accomplish that, it seemed like being able to run a 10k without stopping was easier and more within reach. I’m sure you’ll e able to do it with no problem.

Leave a Reply

