Practice 5K in less than 33 (mini-goal)

The last couple of days have been pretty busy at work and I considered skipping this morning’s workout. Yet, it is the weekend (Thursday and Friday in Oman) and I couldn’t find a valid excuse other than feeling a bit lazy. I must admit since I started running almost seven months ago there have been a few occasions when I felt like skipping a run or training session but I have forced myself out the door. Luckily, once I am outside and on my way the feeling of laziness, tiredness or lack of motivation quickly passes and I am able to focus on the day’s training plan.

Today’s schedule called for a 5K run followed by 20 minutes of jogging. Recently, I have been able to run 5K, without any walking breaks, in about 33.30 to 35.00 minutes.  This may not sound fast to seasoned runners but a few months ago I could barely run 3K in 30 minutes. Moreover, running 5K without taking a couple of walking breaks seemed like an impossible dream.

My first practice 5K in under 33 minutes!

This morning was cool and windy.  After warming up for about ten minutes I hit my timer and started running at about 5:30. When I reached the 2K marker I glanced at my watch and saw that my time was slightly under 14 minutes so, I continued until the 2.5K marker. Then, I turned and ran back to the starting point as fast as I could. Needless to say I was delighted when I realized that I completed a practice 5K in less than 33 minutes for the first time.

Making even a small improvement keeps me motivated and on track to reach my goal of running 5K in less than 30 minutes.

3 responses to “Practice 5K in less than 33 (mini-goal)

  1. Well done!

  2. That’s awesome! Congrats on your success!

Leave a Reply

