Non-running days

When I was home in Canada I could go biking, swimming, play tennis, or do step aerobics on non-running days. Moreover, there were plenty of opportunities to get exercise at home – always some work (raking, cutting the grass, trimming trees, cleaning, painting, etc.) that needed to be done.  At times I felt like I was exercising too much.  By 9 or 10 in the evening I was exhausted and fell asleep the minute I hit the bed. This is no longer the case. There are no swimming pools, no tennis courts, no gyms, and there certainly is no outdoor work for me in Ibri.  Although I walk 20-25 minutes to work and then another 30 minutes  at the end of the day, I don’t consider this exercise. It is just part of my daily routine.

At present, on my non-running days I do 40 minutes of stretching and random exercises before going to work.  Yet, for some unknown reason I feel like I am not getting enough exercise on these days. This is going to change because I have decided to add some yoga exercises into my training plan and follow a workout schedule for non-running days.  I will start out easy and work my way up to a respectable and tough workout.

I am going to start with the following: 10 push-ups, 25 sit-ups, 10 crunches,  3 x 30-second planks (front, back and sides), 10 squats, 5 x 15-second leg raises.  This will be followed by a yoga routine for beginning runners that I discovered recently.

  Yoga routine for non-running days for beginners.

My plan is to increase these numbers slowly over the next two months. Most importantly, I hope by strengthening my core  it will help improve my running.

Leave a Reply

