Letter to Garmin

Dear Garmin,

 One day without you and I felt so alone. It was like being parted from  a dear friend. How did this happen?  I started running with an ordinary watch and managed just fine. I had no idea about distance, pace or calories burned.  It didn’t matter – I knew I was exhausted after 30 or 35 minutes.

Then, I discovered you and my training life changed – distance, pace, time, heart rate, and calories suddenly had meaning. You became the focal point of my running. I trust you more than my old and worn Swatch. I analyze your numbers and produce running charts, logs and plans based on what you show me. Some days I compete against you. At times, you make me happy, but on occasion you make me sad. (Of course, it is not your fault than I am slow.) Yet, no matter what, I always treat you with respect and take care of you.

You have a special place in my home. You are part of my running equipment, equally important as my sneakers and clothes. I would never lend my running sneakers so why would I lend you? When I travel, you come along in a special little bag I sewed just for you.

Lending you has made me realize how important you are. Some people require expensive running shoes and fancy  hi-tech running t-shirts but not me. I can no longer run without you. You are my personal running coach – you guide and support me. You have helped improve my running. For this, I am grateful and I promise to never lend you again.

Your faithful friend,

4 responses to “Letter to Garmin

  1. Your post is so funny! I don’t think I could ever loan my Garmin to anyone, I am so attached!

  2. I know what you mean! I need to send my ipod in to repair a cracked screen and have been putting it off for aaaages because I don’t want to have to run without the app to track how I’m doing. And I didn’t use to need any of that stuff before! It’s amazing how quickly you get used to things and they become essential.

  3. I can relate to this. I use a Nike+ sportsband and while it has really helped me alot in my recent training, I found out it is not as accurate as I thought at .90mile I am actually at exactly 1 mile. This has thrown me and on top of everything else my laptop synched with the sportsband is not working either so I can’t upload my new runs on my profile. I miss it and feel cheated not being able to look back over my run and examine time, distance, cals, peaks/lows in speed etc. I have looked at both Sunto and Garmin as the next upgrade in my running coaching but the Garmin 610 is great but pricy. Sunto are more affordable but not quite as appealing so at the moment I am frustrated. I know how you feel. 🙂

Leave a Reply

