Goal Weight

It took many years to get out of shape. Ten years ago, I weighed 120 lbs give or take 2 or 3, by no means skinny but certainly not obese.

When I started university, I was slightly overweight but was able to slim down relatively quick via exercise, and stayed around the 120 mark. Fast forward 20 years, I entered my forties and gradually added about 3 lbs per year. Last September at 47, I topped the scales at 142 lbs. At the rate of adding 3 lbs per year, I was well on my way to 150 lbs by the time I hit 50.

Why and how had I gained all this weight? Trying to find an answer to this question was pointless. I was wasting my time pondering over my weight gain instead of doing something about it. Something had to change – my lifestyle (fewer treats) and more exercise (running).

Today, a little over a year later, I weigh exactly 125 lbs. My goal weight of 120 lbs is still a long way off but I will get there. For most people, it is easier to gain weight than to lose it. I didn’t gain my extra weight in a few months and I don’t expect to lose it in a few weeks. After all, it has taken me 12 months to drop 17 pounds.  By losing weight gradually, through a healthy diet and exercise, it will be easier to keep it from returning. Fad diets and quick weight loss schemes may produce great results in the short-term but they don’t always produce lasting results.

In the end, it may take me a long time to reach my goal weight, but when I get there I plan on staying.

Created by MyFitnessPal – Free Calorie Counter

3 responses to “Goal Weight

  1. Good points! I too gained a lot of weight as I got older and it was not just from having 4 children! Running has helped me loose 15 pounds and now I am working with a dietitian to fuel my runs and loose weight while training for a half marathon. Healthier choices and staying within a calorie range based on the day’s run mileage is her approach. I really needed to learn serving sizes! Here is her site if you are interested http://www.runners-fuel.com/. She runs in my training group and is an awesome young woman. For a fee she sets up a daily calorie range based on your training schedule etc. and recommends the amount of carbs. protein, fat etc. that you should consume each day. She gave our training group a really good talk on fueling your body for running and why we gain weight and how easy it is to overeat your running! I still have a lot of weight to loose, but it is coming off as the miles get longer! Have a good day!

  2. Good for you. And what a sane approach to healthy body weight.
    Why it takes us longer to lose weight in our 40s than in our 20s I have no idea, but I do know dieting doesn’t work. If it did why do people have to go back on them, over and over again?

Leave a Reply

