Topic 261: What does “home” mean to you?

Ibri, Oman (my home for now)

This is not an easy question for me to answer. Over the past few years, I have been blessed to live and work in many different and exotic parts of the world. Although living and working in a foreign country can be fun and challenging, it can also be stressful and lonely. On the one hand, there is never a dull moment – there is always something new to discover. This could be a simple as paying the water bill or as difficult as learning survival skills in a new language. However, at times one has to deal with nasty taxi drivers, crowded subways and unfamiliar food. Given the good and bad, all of the places were unique and amazing in their own way.  And for a short period of time each place was my home.

Miramichi, Canada (my real home)

Knowing that I have a wonderful home to go back to makes it easier to cope and survive away from home in a strange place.  My real home is on the Miramichi, the river where I was born, raised and feel totally at ease. It is the place of my roots, language, family and friends. Everyone understands me here – no need for hand gestures, repetition, or drawings. Just writing this makes me long for my home. I have to end here and accept that Ibri is my home at the moment.

Leave a Reply

