5K in 30 Minutes

Yesterday, I reported to work after a few hours of sleep. Luckily, we had absolutely nothing to do but meet and greet returning colleagues. (I wish running was as easy as my job.)

This will be me finishing a 5K in 30 minutes or less.

Anyhow, I went for my first run this morning since returning to Oman and I finally managed to cover 5K without a walking break in a time of 36 minutes. The Couch-to-5k plan may prepare some people to run 5K in 30 minutes but not everyone.  It takes some people a little longer or maybe a lot longer, to cover the distance in 30 minutes. I will eventually get there even if it takes me a year!

On a positive note, I didn’t push myself and just went out for a relaxing run to get back into running in the desert heat.  So, I am optimistic this time can be improved on over the next few weeks.

10 responses to “5K in 30 Minutes

  1. It won’t take you a year and as long as you train consistently it will come sooner then you expect. Keep at it and never give up!

  2. Well, I think I am your age! I could have sworn I saw your age somewhere!

  3. Good job! Just tonight I finally ran a 5k distance in 39 minutes on some serious hills here in Mississippi! The cooler weather helped too! By the way thanks for your comment on my blog. I am the same age as you and just started running in January this year. My husband and I have done several training programs with Fleet Feet Sports and are training now to run our first half-marathon. My husband ran when he was younger so it came back to him fairly fast and he has gained speed and lost lots of weight. Me? moving a little slower but getting there! What brought you to the other side of the world?!

    • Good luck with your half-marathon! I am going to try to move on to a 10K first and maybe by this time next year I will be ready to start training for a half.

      What brought you to the other side of the world?!” I ask myself this question almost everyday!

  4. This is true…..My goal is to beat my best time not the others in the race.

  5. Good for you – both for completing 5K without walking breaks and for not comparing yourself to others. The only race is against yourself : )

Leave a Reply

