Personal Running Test

A few months ago when I started running I just wanted to lose some weight. Walking and tennis just didn’t seem to help anymore when it came to losing weight. Running was my last option for weight control without dieting. I have never been able to follow a diet for more than a few days. In fact, I don’t even try to diet anymore.

At first, I could think of a dozen excuses to avoid running but I forced myself to get up early and go out before the heat was unbearable. To make things worse the weight didn’t seem to come off in the beginning. The only thing that kept me going was that I was becoming fitter even though the scales indicated no change in my weight. Day by day, I was able to run for a longer stretch. Then I decided to forget about my weight and just concentrate on running and finishing Couch-to-5K in nine weeks. I accomplished this feat and somewhere along the way I have dropped almost 5 pounds.

I am still running and trying to increase my distance and speed. I plan to enter my first race, a 5K, on August 1, 2011. This will be a personal running test for me. I have spent the last three months preparing for this event. I am ready for the challenge. Of course, I will not win any prizes but I secretly hope that I am not the last person to cross the finish line.

Leave a Reply

