Setting Goals

Nine weeks ago, I had one goal in mind and that was to successfully complete C25K. At first, this goal seemed like it would be next to impossible to reach. After all, I struggled to finish the 90 second runs so how could I possibly run non-stop for 30 minutes? However, by concentrating on one day at a time, and overcoming small hurdles with patience along the way, I managed to finish C25K last week. It was not easy.

While doing C25K I opted to use time as a measure of progress rather than distance. So now I can run 30 minutes without stopping. But what does this really mean? Yesterday was the first day I ran for distance. In 31 minutes I covered 4 kilometres. My initial disappointment of not covering a greater distance was put to rest by focusing on the starting point with my original aim to finish C25K in nine weeks. I also discovered that running uphill – even a small incline – requires much more effort than I expected. (If there were no hills I might have been closer to 5K.) I guess eight weeks of running on a perfectly flat stretch of desert highway in Oman doesn’t prepare one for the rough and hilly roads of New Brunswick. Anyhow, hills offer a new challenge and will help to keep me focused over the next few days before my first 5K race.

Lastly, I believe in order to reach a goal without becoming discouraged or frustrated in the process; it must be measurable and attainable. Given this and my progress to date, my next goal is not only to finish a 5K race but to cover the distance in less than 40 minutes.

One response to “Setting Goals

  1. You hit the nail right on the head when you said, “I believe in order to reach a goal without becoming discouraged or frustrated in the process; it must be measurable and attainable.” That is dead on. Good luck with your training!

Leave a Reply

