Drinking on the Move

As I progress through the C25K running plan, I have encountered an unexpected problem –  drinking and running at the same time. Does anyone else have this problem? At first, in the early weeks of the plan I would drink as much water as possible before stepping out into the sweltering desert heat.  However, now with morning temperatures of 38°C or more  I have to drink water or risk collapsing from dehydration.

I am sure for experienced runners  there is a technique to drinking while running but I just can’t seem to figure it out. I tried slowing down but this didn’t help. I still managed to spill most of my water. I can knit and watch TV at the same time. I can talk and type at the same time.  So,  why can’t I run and drink at the same time?

Oil is cheaper!

For me, the only way to avoid spilling my water is to stop and drink. This is a huge problem because my goal is to stick as closely as possible to the C25K plan. Stopping to drink interrupts my run.  Consequently, I have been wasting a lot of water lately by not stopping to drink. I just keep moving and spilling water everywhere. Of course, this is like throwing money on the street since water is not cheap in Oman.

What can I do?

Leave a Reply

